Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Citizen of the Year & Caring Youth Awards

Post Date:08/15/2019 9:00 AM

Citizen of the Year Award

The city is currently accepting nominations for the 2019 Citizen of the Year award. This annual award was created by the City Council to present a special honor to a citizen who exemplifies the spirit of giving back to the community. The Council’s goals for this award are:

  • Recognize the volunteer efforts of deserving citizens
  • Inspire others to continue the tradition of Shoreview citizens volunteering

Past Citizen of the Year award recipients include: Charlie Oltman (2018), Ady Wickstrom (2017), Steve Gallop (2016), George C. Lang (2015), George Robinson (2014), Julie B. Williams (2013), Mark Stange (2012), Marsha Soucheray (2011), Peggy Wedell (2010), Jacci Krebsbach (2009), Kent Peterson (2009), Bill Farrell (2008), Karen Eckman (2008), and Mary Hilfiker (2007).

If you know someone deserving of this recognition, please complete the online nomination form by October 4, 2019. 

Caring Youth Award

The Shoreview Human Rights Commission is currently accepting applications for the 2019 Caring Youth award. The HRC created this award to honor Shoreview's outstanding young volunteers. Nominees help make Shoreview a community where all people are welcomed, valued, and respected. 

Nominees must:

  • Live in or volunteer in Shoreview
  • Be in grades 9 through 12
  • Meet the criteria in one or more of the following categories.
    • Anti-Bullying Efforts
    • Arts & Creativity
    • Community Involvement
    • Courage
    • Cultural Awareness
    • Environment

Applications are due by September 20, 2019. Click here for more information.

Return to full list >>