City Council

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

2018 City Council members

Shoreview has one Mayor and four City Council members. The Mayor serves a two-year term. Each Council member serves four-year staggered terms. All council members serve the community at-large. Shoreview adopted the Plan B Council/Manager form of government.

Meeting information

Meeting schedule

  • Regular meetings
    • First and third Mondays, 7 pm
  • Workshop meetings
    • Second Monday, 6 pm
  • Meetings will be on a Tuesday if a holiday falls on the Monday

Agendas, minutes, and videos


Meet the council

City Council Responsibilities

The City Council has the following powers and duties:

  • Appoints the city manager
  • Legislates and sets policy for the city
  • Establishes and approves budget, tax levy, and capital improvement program
  • Reviews and approves development projects
  • Adopts ordinances and land use regulations
  • Appoints committee and commission members
  • Develops multi-year goals
  • Participates in intergovernmental relations