Rice Street between Rustic Place and Gramsie Road will be closed for resurfacing beginning Monday, August 19.

Economic Development Commission

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option
Economic Development Commission and
City Council members look on at a tour
of a local Shoreview Business.

Tom Simonson, Assistant City Manager/ 
Community Development Director

Phone: 651.490.4612 | E-mail Tom

Niki Hill, AICP
Economic Development and Planning Associate
Phone: 651.490.4658 | E-mail Niki


Our vision for Shoreview is a healthy, thriving, high-quality community. Businesses are the cornerstone to the economic vitality that fosters community progress, livability, and overall quality of life.
We will work to maintain Shoreview’s reputation as a highly desirable place to do business by continuing to build a strong and supportive environment that promotes and facilitates business growth and expansion.
We strive to maximize the community’s strategic location and amenities as a valuable resource, including a well-educated workforce. We will proactively retain our key landmark and emerging businesses, and target new companies that offer good employment prospects and services to the community.


The mission of the Shoreview Economic Development Commission is to support the City Council to retain, expand and recruit diversified business development that provides varied and broad job opportunities through these core roles:

  • Building strong and effective relationships with the local businesses
  • Retaining key landmark and emerging businesses through proactive support
  • Providing a valuable communication link between the business community and the city
  • Serving as an advocate for businesses in city policy and program development as an advisory group to the city council
  • Educating the business community on city policies, goals, and values
  • Facilitating networking opportunities for local businesses through the Shoreview Business Social Hour and other sponsored events
  • Providing communication resources and services to local businesses
  • Working with the city council and Economic Development Authority to develop and implement long-range strategic planning for business growth, economic development and redevelopment 

Meeting Schedule

Third Tuesday, 7:30 am

Board Members:

  • Shelly Myrland, Chair
  • Mike Tarvin, Vice Chair
  • Josh Wing
  • Ray Goodwin
  • Dave Kroona
  • Mike Schoonover
  • Bill Siitari
  • Jeff Washburn
  • Kirk VanBlaircom
  • Dean Howard
  • David Best
  • Carly Gatzlaff
  • Dana Healy